Speakers

  • Craycraft Colloquium: More than Just a Musical Conversation

    by - Dec 9, 2016
    SAL Colloquium: A Nation Evolves Through Song and Steel DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu Dr. Craycraft of the College of St. Scholastica Music Department enlightened the audience at last week’s SAL Colloquium about his trip to Tunapuna, Trinidad....
  • Justice Together Sheds Light on the Black Lives Matter Movement

    by - Nov 4, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu A presentation during Justice Together Week last month was aimed at clearing misconceptions about Black Lives Matter, a powerful but often misunderstood movement that has swept the country. Nafisa Osman presented a segment...
  • Two Irish Poets

    by - Oct 7, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu It’s safe to assume the odds are pretty slim that two Irish-American poets who live in Missouri would end up in Duluth, Minnesota, doing a reading here at The College of St. Scholastica....
  • SAL Colloquium: Cuban Contradictions

    by - Sep 30, 2016
    Four Professional Perspectives from April Cuba Visit DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu The School of Arts and Letters hosted their first colloquium of the year last Friday. The Sept. 23 talk presented information from the Spring 2016 CSS...
  • The Peace and Justice Lecture Series Returns to CSS

    by - Sep 23, 2016
    Matt Maybon mmaybon@css.edu For this year’s Peace and Justice Lecture series the theme will be “Listening to Voices of America”. The five speakers presenting will be talking about how minorities actually live in America. Dr. Tom...
  • Had Jesus Felt Abandoned?

    by - Apr 15, 2016
    Dr. Campbell Explores Whether Jesus Was Abandoned by God Allie Brennhofer abrennhofer@css.edu In the last moments of his life, Jesus issued a phrase that would prove controversial for many over the centuries to follow, his cry...
  • Exploring the Past of Literature

    by - Mar 4, 2016
    Dr. Stephanie Johnson’s Colloquium on Alice Meynell Megan Glenn mglenn@css.edu The monthly liberal arts colloquium took place last Friday, February 26 in Tower room 4119, with Dr. Stephanie Johnson as the speaker. Her subject was the...
  • Shifting Away from Conventional Horror Filmmaking

    by - Feb 19, 2016
    Matt Maybon mmaybon@css.edu It seems the genre of horror is either a hit or a miss with people; it’s an acquired taste. A horror movie nowadays will almost always include three elements in its story. These...
  • Students Learn to Take Life to the Next Level

    by - Feb 19, 2016
    Allissah Jerome ajerome@css.edu On February 15, Julie Zaruba Fountaine hosted an event titled “Life 2.0: Take Your Life to the Next Level.” Fountaine is the Wellness Coordinator for students, faculty, and staff at The College of...
  • Berning Up: Saints Attend Sanders’ Rally

    by - Feb 5, 2016
    Ellen Hansen ehansen6@css.edu “I love him and I want to marry him,” joked junior Bailey Barber in reference to 2016 presidential candidate Bernie Sanders. Barber, along with numerous other CSS students and faculty, attended Bernie Sanders’...