Politics

  • International Students and the Executive Orders: What You May Not See

    by - Apr 21, 2017
    Eleni Birhane ebirhane@css.edu The United States of America is a country established by immigrants founded on the values of diversity, equality and freedom. These are things that international students have heard about the U.S. before coming...
  • Karen Diver Updates CSS on the State of Native Nations

    by - Apr 7, 2017
    Special Assistant to President Obama speaks for Allworth Series DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu The annual Allworth Peace and Justice series came to a close for the school year with a talk from Karen Diver. Diver, who served...
  • Saints Finding Common Ground

    by - Feb 17, 2017
    DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu The political environment in the U.S. at this time is hyper-partisan to a detrimental extent. The largest issue with hyper-partisanship is the lack of finding common ground. Without common ground, conversations easily become...
  • President Trump’s Cabinet

    by - Feb 17, 2017
    Roger Gonsior rgonsior1@css.edu A lot of American people were outraged at the choices the President had picked for his cabinet, stating that it was a conservative dream team. And that his choices were a preview of...
  • Gaining Post-Election Perspective

    by - Dec 9, 2016
    CSS Students, Faculty and Staff share their thoughts DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu It is now a month past the election of 2016 and a little over a month away from Trump’s presidency. It is needless to say...
  • My New Neighbors

    by - Dec 2, 2016
    Julianna French jfrench@css.edu Thursday morning I came home and saw that our new neighbors have a large sign, strung up between two trees, showing their support for the President-elect. Normally, this wouldn’t bother me, everyone is...
  • HOOAH!: What is going on?

    by - Dec 2, 2016
    Chad Graden cgraden@css.edu Recently, it seems like most people have lost their minds over this election. We have people blocking traffic on highways, beating people up, crying, and displaying racial hate in public places. All of...
  • Letter to the Editor: Voting (Hopefully)

    by - Oct 28, 2016
    Mitchell Gertken mgertken@css.edu For the vast majority of my life, I’ve had very little interest in political affairs. Where I may have taken my stance on a particular social issue or two, I rarely did anything...
  • Presidential Election 2016: Who are you Voting for?

    by - Oct 14, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu As election day draws closer and closer, it is hard to go anywhere without hearing mentions of the names Hillary and Trump. Whether it is on Facebook or on yard signs, it seems...
  • HOOAH!: We Are Free To Choose

    by - Sep 30, 2016
    Chad Graden cgraden@css.edu “A vote is like a rifle: its usefulness depends upon the character of the user.” ―Theodore Roosevelt As election year is in full swing and we are soon to realize who our next...