Politics

  • President Trump’s Cabinet

    by - Feb 17, 2017
    Roger Gonsior rgonsior1@css.edu A lot of American people were outraged at the choices the President had picked for his cabinet, stating that it was a conservative dream team. And that his choices were a preview of...
  • Saints Finding Common Ground

    by - Feb 17, 2017
    DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu The political environment in the U.S. at this time is hyper-partisan to a detrimental extent. The largest issue with hyper-partisanship is the lack of finding common ground. Without common ground, conversations easily become...
  • Gaining Post-Election Perspective

    by - Dec 9, 2016
    CSS Students, Faculty and Staff share their thoughts DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu It is now a month past the election of 2016 and a little over a month away from Trump’s presidency. It is needless to say...
  • My New Neighbors

    by - Dec 2, 2016
    Julianna French jfrench@css.edu Thursday morning I came home and saw that our new neighbors have a large sign, strung up between two trees, showing their support for the President-elect. Normally, this wouldn’t bother me, everyone is...
  • HOOAH!: What is going on?

    by - Dec 2, 2016
    Chad Graden cgraden@css.edu Recently, it seems like most people have lost their minds over this election. We have people blocking traffic on highways, beating people up, crying, and displaying racial hate in public places. All of...
  • Letter to the Editor: Voting (Hopefully)

    by - Oct 28, 2016
    Mitchell Gertken mgertken@css.edu For the vast majority of my life, I’ve had very little interest in political affairs. Where I may have taken my stance on a particular social issue or two, I rarely did anything...
  • Presidential Election 2016: Who are you Voting for?

    by - Oct 14, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu As election day draws closer and closer, it is hard to go anywhere without hearing mentions of the names Hillary and Trump. Whether it is on Facebook or on yard signs, it seems...
  • HOOAH!: We Are Free To Choose

    by - Sep 30, 2016
    Chad Graden cgraden@css.edu “A vote is like a rifle: its usefulness depends upon the character of the user.” ―Theodore Roosevelt As election year is in full swing and we are soon to realize who our next...
  • Letter to the Editor: Talking Politics

    by - Apr 8, 2016
    Henry Backus hbackus@css.edu “Never talk religion and politics with people whose views differ from yours.” That is common wisdom that is repeated time and time again. And it’s probably good advice, to a certain extent. If...
  • Trump: More Liberal Than Conservative?

    by - Feb 19, 2016
    Emmanuel Ayisi eayisi@css.edu The ninth Republican presidential debate on Saturday, February 13th, ended with Donald Trump gaining the image of not being “conservative enough.” It is no surprise that Donald Trump is not Barack Obama, but...