Front Page

  • Inauguration Held For 12th President of College

    by - Oct 21, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu The College of St. Scholastica community gathered together Friday to welcome President Colette Geary to the college. Geary is the 12th president of the college and the first female in 40 years. She...
  • Senate Still Unsure of Exact Budget

    by - Oct 21, 2016
    Allie Brennhofer abrennhofer@css.edu For the second meeting in a row, Student Senate did not have the exact amount of their budget on hand and relied again on an estimation. The Finance Department has had difficulty figuring...
  • Football Falls on Homecoming

    by - Oct 21, 2016
    Shawn Pohlmann spohlmann@css.edu The St. Scholastica football team’s streak of 35-straight UMAC wins was snapped this past Saturday when they hosted the University of Northwestern Eagles. The Eagles also broke an 18-game home win streak for...
  • Total and Undergraduate Enrollment Up Slightly

    by - Oct 14, 2016
    Madison Reynolds mreynolds@css.edu Enrollment at the College of St. Scholastica has risen slightly this year, according to school officials. Overall enrollment — undergraduate and graduate students — increased by 1 percent this year from 4,360 students...
  • REVIEW: “Music from Shakespeare’s Time”

    by - Oct 14, 2016
    Jamming Like Shakespeare Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu When thinking of Shakespeare and his world famous works, I picture a grand chorus and monumental orchestra. It would make sense that literature with such a massive impact would have...
  • Trosen and Rees Crowned 2016 King and Queen

    by - Oct 14, 2016
    Josie Steller jsteller@css.edu Josh Trosen and Rachel Rees were crowned Homecoming King and Queen at a ceremony during Tuesday night’s lip sync battle. “Both of them really represent our school well. I’m excited to support them...
  • Women’s Soccer Strikes Back in Second Half

    by - Oct 7, 2016
    Sam Hvidsten shvidsten@css.edu The College of St. Scholastica women’s soccer team had quite an eventful weekend. They started the weekend strong defeating the University of Minnesota Morris Cougars during overtime with a score of 2-1, and...
  • Two Irish Poets

    by - Oct 7, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu It’s safe to assume the odds are pretty slim that two Irish-American poets who live in Missouri would end up in Duluth, Minnesota, doing a reading here at The College of St. Scholastica....
  • Senate Budget Cut by a Third

    by - Oct 7, 2016
    Allie Brennhofer abrennhofer@css.edu Student Senate’s budget is down by a third from last year, and the tighter budget is already impacting the way campus clubs are funded. While there are no firm numbers yet, Financial Vice...
  • CSS Instructor Runs Superior Hiking Trail

    by - Sep 30, 2016
    Abigail Blonigen ablonigen@css.edu The Superior Hiking Trail is a 310 mile long journey that runs from Otter Lake Road, close to Canada, to Jay Cooke State Park, just south of Duluth. The trail is along the...