Opinion

  • Letter to the Editor: Northern Explorers

    - Oct 13, 2017
    Alex Cole acole2@css.edu To whom it may concern,      The importance of this letter comes from the course of events during the Student Senate meeting on the evening of October 1, 2017. This letter is in no...
  • Community Conversations: Muggle Rights

    - Sep 29, 2017
    Muggle Rights – Or- The Environment Submit your thoughts to be part of Community Conversations in The Cable! Write a 200-250 word piece on this topic and submit it to cable@css.edu to get your voice heard,...
  • The Repugnancy of Severus Snape

    - Sep 29, 2017
    Allie Brennhofer abrennhofer@css.edu I detest Severus Snape, a highly debated character from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. Now, hear me out. I know I just lost about half of the readers, but I have reasons for...
  • Protest Community Conversation

    - Mar 3, 2017
    First and last name: Michael Johnson Protesting is one of the most tangible ways we at CSS can live out the Benedictine Values to their fullest extent. Participating in demonstrations has given me additional learning experiences...
  • CSS Should be a Sanctuary

    - Feb 24, 2017
    Samuel Black You don’t necessarily want 200 words from me, but the answer to your questions is an absolute certainty. Benedict would have it no other way. Chapter 53 of The Rule is specifically addressed to...
  • President Trump’s Cabinet

    - Feb 17, 2017
    Roger Gonsior rgonsior1@css.edu A lot of American people were outraged at the choices the President had picked for his cabinet, stating that it was a conservative dream team. And that his choices were a preview of...
  • Saints Finding Common Ground

    - Feb 17, 2017
    DyAnna Grondahl dgrondahl@css.edu The political environment in the U.S. at this time is hyper-partisan to a detrimental extent. The largest issue with hyper-partisanship is the lack of finding common ground. Without common ground, conversations easily become...
  • A Few Words on Inclusive Excellence

    - Feb 10, 2017
    Linnea Moore lmoore@css.edu For those who don’t know me, I am Linnea Moore, a sophomore Psychology student who is active in the social justice community on campus. I believe that the Spring 2017 Senate allocations of...
  • Therapy Animals: Should they be allowed on campus?

    - Feb 10, 2017
    Alysa Ruona aruona@css.edu For man’s best friend, feline friends, and other nonhuman pals alike, their job is to take care of us in ways we cannot. Many students on campus have what they call “therapy animals”...
  • Concerns About President Trump

    - Feb 10, 2017
    Shivani Singh ssingh1@css.edu November 8, 2016, USA’s population and most of the world was waiting on the Presidential election results. For us– “the immigrants”– it was more than just the outcome of this election; it was...