Arts and Entertainment

  • Groupies Wanted

    - Nov 17, 2017
    The Rock Show Preview Kate Miller kmiller16@css.edu Groups and groupies are preparing to get together for the upcoming Rock Show at the College of Saint Scholastica. Performers include Saints Drumline, Steel Band, World Drumming Ensemble, all...
  • Ed Chevy Brings Awareness of Deaf Culture to CSS

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Alyssa Luukkonen aluukkonen@css.edu A man walked out onto the dimly lit stage of the Mitchell Auditorium holding a bag of chips in one hand, and reaching into the bag with the other. It’s not a chip...
  • Upcoming: CHOICES 2nd Annual Casino Night

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Card games, music, mocktails, free food. What more do you need? Kelsi Rippberger krippberger@css.edu Come one, come all, to the 2nd Annual Casino Night hosted by CHOICES! This event will be put on by men’s and...
  • Club Spotlight: CSS Oxfam

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Alyssa Luukkonen aluukkonen@css.edu There are over 65 clubs and organizations at the College of St. Scholastica, on subjects ranging from academic and career, to spirituality and ministry, to sports and outdoors. Social justice and service is...
  • Dr. Jess McCullough Shares Knowledge of Women in the Viking Age

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Libby Palokangas lpalokangas@css.edu Dr. Jess McCullough, CSS alum, MA in medieval history, and Ph.D. in archaeology, spoke last Wednesday on the facts and myths involving women in the Viking Age. There is a lot of folklore...
  • Hoffman Declares Sustainable Living Doesn’t Exclude Economic Growth

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Peace and Justice Lecture Cover Kelsi Rippberger krippberger@css.edu Professor Bob Hoffman, assistant professor of economics, recently presented a Peace and Justice lecture about sustainable living and the role economic growth has in creating solutions for environmental...
  • Students Enjoy Mashed Potatoes Best

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Katelynne Schatz kschatz@css.edu Almost all families have a slightly different tradition when it comes to Thanksgiving, but most can agree that the dishes of the main meal—whether it be lunch or dinner—are important. Therefore, it is...
  • G-Yamazawa: Spoken Word Review

    - Nov 17, 2017
    Jemma Provance jprovance@css.edu Last Monday evening, the Campus Activities Board welcomed G-Yamazawa, a spoken word artist from Durham, North Carolina. Holding the title of National Poetry Slam Champion, he was introduced as focusing on the “American...
  • Email Takes Scholastica By Storm

    - Nov 10, 2017
    Tips on How to Send a Good Email Emily Kiemele ekiemele@css.edu Between communicating with professors, the student community thread, and every possible club and activity hurling their various information at students, the College of Saint Scholastica...
  • “Oh my god!” Let’s change the world

    - Nov 10, 2017
    Review of One Village, Many Voices Concert Kate Miller kmiller16@css.edu Promoting peace was the focus of the “One Village, Many Voices” concert held last week in the Mitchell Auditorium. Standing in line and waiting for the...